VIDEO KILLED THE RADIO STAR. THE IPHONE KILLED THE REST OF US!!!
Where were you in 1981? I know a couple of my readers were still somewhere inside their future mom’s body. I think, I don’t know. I ain’t no scientist. I do know JB was a rambunctious ten year old building forts, shooting BB guns and playing smear the queer. I know I know queer is not “politically correct” but it’s ok because after fifty four years I am still not quite sure about my sexuality. Much like my sexual curiosity, everything changed in August 1st of 1981 when MTV took to the airwaves. My friends and I became glued to the TV to watch “Video Killed The Radio Star by the Buggles”. The rest was history. Sure we went outside occasionally. But we spent the lion share of our time sitting on my friends couch drinking sweet tea fixated on MTV because we didn’t want to miss if and when a new video was debuted. Which back in the early days was rare. Pat Benatar, The Who, Rod Stewart and Phil Collins seemed to be repeated for days and weeks on end. And my half wit friends and I were trapped in the living room like zombies. If that wasn’t bad enough, the Atari 2600 came out around this time and teens of the 80’s were hit with their first pandemic. Once again, I ain’t no scientist. Nor am I a fucking doctor. I am a practicing waiting room therapist though. I digress….. you heard it here first folks, kids of the 80’s got the PAC MAN FEVER!!! And that shit was addictive. And sadly, in my humble opinion many of us never fully recovered.
Bring us to 2007, the millennials and generation Z never had a chance. Thanks to Steve Jobs and his ultra addictive I Phone. This little rectangular computer in the palm of our hands holds the power to everything and changed all of our lives. Sound a bit familiar? Can you put the fucker down? Try. It’s calling to you. You need that fix. Hungry? Type in food near me. Need a date? Open your Grinder errrr your Tinder app. This is how the world works now. No need to communicate face to face or get a read from someone by physically connecting with them. Or for that matter, even speaking to the person even on the phone. It seems much easier to hide behind a text than have to face the world and its many problems. Maybe even look at every one else’s opinions online and decipher what’s fake and what’s real. You can always find something or someone who will agree with your thoughts online. It also way more easy to disdain the things you think you don’t like or agree with “on the line”. Does anyone miss having conversations with people you don’t necessary agree with? I do. Well I still have them, but that’s just my form of entertainment. Unfortunately I believe most of the world does not. I think that’s sad.
Bringing it full circle. I don’t blame the I Phone for all our problems. I just looked up World Problems, turns out it’s Biden’s fault, I kid!!! No no, it’s the mother fucking MTV!!! It started this shit. That and PAC MAN. You yellow ghost eating fucker.
The I phone is the probably the straw that broke the chinchillas back though. Hey, this just one fat, slightly lonely man’s opinion. You be the judge.
Peace and love to all.
Comments
Post a Comment